top of page

Double Cleansing



Today, almost every makeup brand is creating new makeup that claims to be 24 hours and even waterproof. You could be wearing 24 hour foundation and concealer, long wearing powders, waterproof liner, and smudge-proof brows daily. Think about it! That is some hardcore makeup right?! So, maybe just a makeup wipe or even your traditional cleaners alone may not be enough to remove it all.



And YES, my very first makeup blog is about removing it! GASP! I know. I know. Don't worry. I will get to the makeup tips, beauty hacks, and all things glitter very soon.


We work hard for our makeup looks. We blend and blend. I mean it is a full cardio workout.  I understand we do Mona Lisa level greatness so after a long day, we(yes myself included) hate the removal process. Just like Mona is under lock and key, we too have to take measures to preserve our own sacred canvas: Our skin.


Introducing DOUBLE CLEANSING!


What is Double Cleansing?

It is exactly what it sounds like. Double cleansing is the method of cleansing your face twice with an oil/balm followed by a cleanser. Double Cleansing has been a life changing tweak to my skin care routine and the most effective way to remove my makeup.


I discovered this method as a former MAC Artist, wearing a full beat daily. My removal process was a lone wipe and go! I cringe now thinking about those nights I did not wash my face, just to wake up and apply more. Girl, over time my skin started to show my wicked lazy ways in the form on B.O.B.’s- Big Ole Bumps. 

*Shakes off past memory


How to Double Cleanse?

The first step of double cleansing is the makeup removal process done with a cleansing oil or balm. Many brands have their own version and it has become very popular with the boom of K-Beauty(Korean Beauty) inspired skincare in America. I will have some popular pictured below. My holy grail is the MAC Cosmetics Cleanse Off Oil Tranquil. 


I pump 4-5 pumps into the palm of my hands then apply to my face. NO WATER. As I work the oil in circular motions, the makeup begins to emulsify or melt. It is oddly satisfying! With this oil, I then add water to bring the oil to a lather and rinse with warm water. (NOTE: Please read the directions to your specific cleansing oil or balm. Some may not require a rinse but rather removing with a towel.)  


The last step is to take my regular cleanser, the Farmacy Clean Bee Cleanser, and wash my face normally. I lather cleanser in circular motions for at least 60 seconds(singing The Fresh Prince Theme Song) and rinse.


The result is squeaky clean skin with no trace of makeup. It feels good to not have that nagging feeling of an ineffective removal of ALL my makeup. Yes, it is an extra step, but it is seriously just as easy as finding your wipes and opening the pack.

Have you tried double cleansing?  Is it something you would try?

36 views0 comments
bottom of page